chitta chatter

silver lake, sweet silver lake

Posted in food, LA, photos, yoga by Nancy on February 4, 2010

Ah, it’s good to be home.

We arrived at LAX yesterday afternoon and Mayra was there to greet us, giant bouquet of flowers in hand. After a stop to pick up my car at her house, we were soon cruising the old familiar 101 again, windows cracked to let the recently rain-washed wind blow through our hair.

Within the first 24 hours back I:

– Took a long, hot, glorious shower.

– Slept. Late. On a real mattress, with springs and everything.

– Watched It Might Get Loud for the hundredth time. Jimmy Page still outrocks them all… even Jack White.

– Walked to Trader Joe’s to restock my fridge. Looking forward to fresh broccoli sautéed in soy sauce, honey and ginger.

– Did primary series. On my Manduka (which, of course, I did not haul to Mysore, though the shala’s tile floor made me wish I had). The 9 rolls of garba pindasana never felt so good. Actually, after 22 hours on a plane, a 3-hour ride to the Bangalore airport, the drive from LAX/picking up the car in Long Beach, and god-knows-how-many hours in bed, the whole series felt good.

– Saw that the dosa truck is still parked on the corner every Wednesday. Don’t imagine I’ll have a hankerin’ for a while, though.

– Tried on my favorite jeans (which I also did not take to India, being my favorites and all) and discovered that, contrary to my usual travel MO, I actually put on a pound or two this trip. Damn you, India, with your ghee and sweets… and sweets made with ghee!!!  [ shakes fist at sky ]

– Noticed a new mural splashed across Circus of Books… Anthony Bourdain was here???

Still on the to-do list for this week:

– Start a flickr account and post the rest of my photos from India. Will post a notice here once it’s up.

– Laundry. Courtesy of Maytag. My clothes will finally be clean. Really clean. And my poor, dry, wrung-out hands will be conspicuously—and gratefully—absent from the process.

– Friday morning yoga at Runyon Canyon. Can. Not. Wait! Fingers, toes and eyes crossed that it doesn’t rain.

– The veggie taco and potato/cheese flautas at Pinche’s Tacos. It ain’t just the name that’s fresh!

– Meeting with my agency for a web gig for one of my favorite clients. I had a check waiting for me when I got back and work still coming in. Life is good.

– Pizza at the Rainbow. To be chased with a $5 shake that tastes like a $5 shake.

– Farmer’s market. Either Silver Lake’s on Saturday or Hollywood’s on Sunday. Probably the latter as I’m in need of more o’ that tasty, cold-packed honey they sell there.

India Sweets & Spices. And not for the spices.

Huh… even in LA, it’s all about the food for me. I guess it’s true that “wherever you go, there you are.” In any event, I’m glad to be back.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lora Glazer said, on February 4, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Welcome Back, Glad You Made It Back Safe, And All Is Good In The World! Loved The Story From Your Trip…You Should Have Your Own Show On The Travel Chanel…You Would Do Well, Or You Could Go On Food Network As The New Vegetarian Anthony Boudain!!! =) x

  2. Nancy said, on February 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    HAHA! Thanks! I think there are enough people trying to be Anthony Bourdain already. Besides, I think his rant against vegetarians is really more about the piss poor quality of most vegetarian restaurant food. (Plus, a lot of classically trained chefs get pretty uppity about serving vegetarians because they were never trained to make things taste good without using animal products and lack the creativity to cook beyond their training.) He was pleasantly surprised, though, with the veg food in India and said that he could happily go veg there. 😉

  3. Boodiba said, on February 13, 2010 at 2:58 am

    I take my Manduka to India every time… And while both teachers actually HAVE mat storage, I’m always carrying it, since I need it two different places.

  4. Nancy said, on February 13, 2010 at 3:10 am

    D’OH! Well, hopefully lugging that thing around at least makes those 3rd series arm balances a little easier. ; )


Leave a Reply

