chitta chatter

feel lucky?

Posted in being human, cars, the road, vegas, winning by Nancy on April 11, 2011

Why yes… yes, I do. Good thing, too. Because research has shown that people who do consider themselves lucky tend to attract more of said luck (the good kind) than those who don’t.

Exhibit A: Our April Fool’s Day weekend Vegas trip.

I had taken my car for an oil change and general road-worthiness inspection a few days before, so I should’ve been 100% confident in its ability to make the journey intact. But I wasn’t. Something wasn’t quite right. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but when you’ve been with one car for 14 years, you just know. Instinct kept mumbling something like, “As your attorney, I advise you to rent a very fast car with no top…” But did I listen? No.

So there we were, in the middle of some godforsaken desert backwater, when the slight steering wheel shimmy we’d been experiencing all trip turned into an epic, end-time battle between good and evil, left and right, car and driver. And the car was not giving up. We pulled off to inspect the lumbering beast and saw nothing awry. Tires looked fine. No leaks in my non-existent power steering. Surely it was an alignment issue. Get back on the road, we thought. Maintain. Just to the next exit, where we’d no doubt find some ersatz grease monkey waiting for a couple of LA rubes to rob blind.

Back on the I-15, things got worse. We’d long since given up driving anywhere near the 70 mph speed limit. The procedure was: Slow down. See marginal improvement. Get the shakes more violently than before. Repeat. We were now down to about 45-50 mph. As vehicles large and small, old and young whizzed past us in their rush to get somewhere and nowhere in particular, we plodded ahead like an old south Florida couple en route from the early bird special at Morrison’s. We wanted off that goddamn highway as much as everyone else wanted us off it. But where? When?

The answer came directly, in the form of Exit 221, Afton Road. Our luck was about to take a turn.

* * * * *

Stay tuned for Part Deux… comin’ at ya just as soon as I get a few work monkeys off my back.

Leave a Reply

